Weekly Comic Read: Ms. Marvel – No Normal

During the Tiny Table 3 Podcast this week, we were talking diversity in mainstream comics.  Because it came up (and because it was one of my favorite reads), I thought I’d post a recommendation.  Author G. Willow Wilson handles the character and cultural context of this young superhero with confidence and intelligence. I first encountered Willson through her novel Alif the Unseen, which I can also highly recommend.  Her work, including the recent Ms. Marvel series, offers insight into a community often besieged by stereotypes  She does what only great authors do: educate us through great story telling.  Click here if you’d like links to her work.

and HERE for her blog

Writer, editor, podcaster, producer @ Tiny Table 3 covering nerd, pop culture, music, and storytelling.

Leave a comment